Thankful Thursday.

Pretty soon after Lucky woke up this morning, he asked me, Mommy, can we go to Dunkin Donuts today?

Back in July, when daycare shut down for the week, my sister flew up from North Carolina for a visit.

She’s a self-professed Dunkin ADDICT, since they don’t have many down there. So every day while she was here, she and Lucky walked to the Dunkin that was close to our house and ate breakfast together.

Ever since then, Lucky and I have tried to go there for breakfast one day a week. Because he loves his blueberry bagel with cream cheese and I love the fact that I don’t have to do anything but pack our lunches for the day.

Today was no different. We walked in, Lucky chose his drink – orange juice instead of chocolate milk today – and we ordered. Meanwhile Lucky gets us straws and chooses a place in the store to sit.

When our food is ready, he gets it and makes a big show of giving out the food. This one is MY sandwich, Mommy! That means the OTHER one is YOURS!

And we sit there, he and I, eating our bagels.

This morning, though? Halfway through the meal, he leaned over and said Mommy, I want to give you a kiss.

And he leaned over and kissed me.

For no real reason other than because he loves me.

THIS is the part of parenting I love.

So today, I’m thankful for our breakfast at Dunkin Donuts.

5 comments on “Thankful Thursday.

  1. This is great – these are the moments in parenting you will remember as your kids grow!

  2. Deborah says:

    Awww. That’s so nice! I love moments like that.

    P.S. I was just looking at your blog on my phone earlier, so I didn’t see the background. It is beautiful!

  3. Kate says:

    That’s so sweet!!! i love those little moments. Nugget has been OBSESSED lately with declaring the posessive pronoun for EVERYTHING. “Nugget’s” yogurt; “Mommy’s” flowers; “Daddy’s” coffee. It’s hilarious. But…does kind of worry me about whether I’m teaching him to be selfish. Not sure if you watch Modern Family, but there was a recent episode about sharing or lack thereof that my husband spent looking knowingly at me. What. So I don’t like to share. :>

  4. Summer says:

    Sounds like it was a perfect morning.

  5. Bea says:

    It’s great to have these rituals.

    Bea

Leave a Reply

