Having Enough: Egg-Free Banana Muffins

I struggle with insomnia a lot. Anything that wakes me from 2:30am on is a near guarantee that I’ll be awake for hours; I’ll JUST be falling asleep at 5:30 when my alarm will ring.

So when Jeff’s alarm rang this morning at 3am, I knew the rest of the night would be a tough one for sleep.

He’s deep sea fishing today, you see, with his uncle and two cousins. And he wanted to try his hand at striper fishing before he got on the boat. As much as I don’t understand fishing – really, the last boat trip I took I puked the whole time – I know it makes him happy. And a bonus: he brings home fish so we can have fresh fillets.

Anyway. Of course insomnia kept me awake, then the birds, then it started getting light out. I dozed fitfully until it was about 6:30, and I knew the dog would need to go out and I had to start my day.

Two ideas got me out of bed today: coffee and fresh banana muffins.

Owen was diagnosed with an egg allergy at a year old. What might have been a mild allergy which he might have quickly outgrown *MIGHT* have been made worse by his ignorant parents continuing to feed him egg-fortified pasta. For the next 6 months.

I wish I was kidding.

We didn’t put two and two together until he was 18 months old, when he started reacting to the pasta itself.

But. Every year, we head to the allergist to measure his egg allergy level. Which, to be fair, has abated over the years. But it’s not low enough, yet, to allow us to participate in a challenge.

And he’s aware that he has allergies. He’s been to the emergency room twice because of them – once from a cashew, another from hornet stings. And he’s heading to kindergarten next year, where we can’t police his lunch. As his mother, it’s my job to teach him that he needs to advocate for himself. He knows he can’t have baked goods, because most of them have egg in them. He knows he needs an epi pen for bee stings and tree nuts.

Sometimes he gets sad about it, like the day we were in the airport at Starbucks and he refused a bagel breakfast, because, Bagels are SO BORING, Mommy. I want something GOOD. That I’m NOT allergic to.

He knows whenever there’s a birthday celebration at daycare he can only have the ice cream cup we left for him. Or cookies which we pack for him.

And he has bonded with my mother and best friend when they’ve shared with him that they’re allergic to certain things.

So whenever I can, I try and find recipes for baked goods which don’t call for eggs or tree nuts. It’s more work – everything needs to be made from scratch, of course.

But it’s enough. It gives him the ability to have a muffin for breakfast for a special occasion.

And I kinda feel like a supermom whenever I make them. 🙂

_____________

These banana muffins are awesome – you can’t tell they’re “allergy sensitive!” muffins.

The recipe allows for fresh bananas, but since I cannot eat a banana when it has a spot on it, I tend to freeze mine when they get too ripe for me to touch. I’ve made this recipe with both fresh and frozen bananas and I prefer the frozen/thawed bananas. Somehow freezing condenses them so the final product tastes more banana-y. (Yes, that’s a word. It’s on the internet. Therefore it must be true!)

Egg-Free Banana Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 medium bananas (approximately 1 cup when mashed)
  • 3 Tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup apple juice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

"
(Look ma, no eggs!)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Lightly spray 12 muffin cup pan with cooking spray (you can use butter if you’d like, too). In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients (flour through salt) and mix well with a fork. (The brown sugar tends to clump, so make sure you break it down so there are no sugar balls!) Add bananas, oil, apple juice and vanilla and stir vigorously until completely blended.

It’ll look like this when it’s combined:

A side note: the banana yumminess will make it impossible for your new puppy, who has just discovered the wonder of Real People Food, to refrain from begging for some of the batter. Ignore his cuteness and do NOT allow him to lick the spoon. (Because that spoon will be all yours when you’re done!)


(Please, please, PLEASE share with me??? Look how cute I am!!!)

Now, the original recipe I found says that this makes 12 muffins.

It WILL if you fill the cups in your muffin pan 3/4 of the way full.

Except then it makes muffins without a top. And seriously, who likes topless muffins? I like my muffins overflowing – with real TOPS. So that is why I only make 10 muffins from this recipe.


(I admit that my OCD Inner Self struggles with this. Those two empty cups! They HAVE TO BE FILLED!)

Bake your 10 (0r 12 if you prefer to have no-top muffins) at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Mine are usually done around 16 minutes or so, so err on the side of early. The muffins are done when a toothpick in the center comes out clean.

Cool for however long you need, or eat right away.


(See how awesome they look? With tops!!!)

They’re tasty with – or without – butter. I’ll pack them in Owen’s lunchbox for a snack as well.

My early morning today, though?

Warm right out of the oven, buttered. With a cup of coffee and the Sunday paper.


Bliss.

This entry was posted in Recipes.

3 comments on “Having Enough: Egg-Free Banana Muffins

  1. Jamie says:

    Those look really good! You can use a combo of flaxseed and water in most recipes in place of the egg. It works really well!

  2. Turia says:

    They look delish!

    Do you know the blog “Chocolate Covered Katie”? It’s a healthy dessert blog, and she’s a vegan, so the recipes are generally vegan (or very easy to make so). I’ve only just found her and have made just one recipe, but it was amazing (her deep dish chocolate cookie pie, which is mainly made from chickpeas).

Leave a Reply

