Why I Deleted All of My Facebook Games.

Without any real planning, today I deleted the Candy Crush app from my Facebook account.

And then Criminal Case.

And then Gardens of Time.

And then Bejeweled Blitz.

And then Words World or whatever the new app I just played this morning for the first time.

Why?

Because I spend too much time on the computer, and on my phone, playing games that are essentially mindless. Which would be fine if I could do it in moderation.

But the problem is that I can’t. It’s SO addicting to match colors and crush candy and find hidden objects on a screen; enough that I need a few minutes here and there when I should be doing other things.

Like playing with my kid.

Or running a load of laundry.

Or taking my dog for a walk.

Or connecting with my husband at the end of a long day.

I’m not against playing games, or gaming, or whatever. And honestly, I loved Candy Crush, I loved that my friends loved Candy Crush, and I loved playing it.

But seriously, it’s gotten bad. I figured out that I could play my 5 lives on the computer, and then play another five lives on my phone. And I’d get so angry at a board where I was stuck that I’d play it as much as possible to get the perfect combination of candies to finally, FINALLY, win the board. And then I’d cruise through another 4 or 5 boards, and then repeat the SAME. DAMN. CYCLE. AGAIN.

(If I’m being honest, the final straw was Level 158, with the stupid multiplying chocolates and the cherry you had to bring to the bottom. It was impossible. Ridiculous and impossible.)

And it struck me, this morning, when I lost my first 5 lives on the computer and then switched over to my phone to play another 5 lives, that went just as quickly as the first 5 lives on Level 158…

… This is completely RIDICULOUS.

I don’t have nearly enough time to read, I keep telling people. Yet somehow I manage to spend minutes of my day playing games.

If I’m going to escape from responsibilities, and disconnect, maybe I should do that with a book, instead.

Or maybe I could take those minutes spent on my phone and play cribbage – which is also low-intellect – with my husband and a glass of wine.

Maybe I should meditate. Or go to bed early. Or take the dog for a walk around the block. Or give someone a call on the phone and catch up.

Maybe it’ll help me, overall, to step away from Facebook and CNN and ESPN and Yahoo and Google. Maybe I’m spending too much time a day on my computer.

Time goes so quickly.

How do I want to spend it?

11 comments on “Why I Deleted All of My Facebook Games.

  1. Heather says:

    I am very close to doing the same, for the same reasons. When I look back on my days when the kids were young I want to remember playing with them. Not playing a stupid computer game that I can’t name.
    Great job cleaning your plate of the time wasters!

  2. OK, I get it… really, I do. But… when you change your mind, come back to Criminal Case, because I need more team members, not less!!! 😉 ❤

  3. Esperanza says:

    I consider myself very lucky that those kinds of games don’t hold my interest, or even spark it in the first place. I am just not a game person, at least not for games on the computer.

    I do spend too much time on my phone but 90% of it is reading. I read blogs mostly and when my reader is light I go to my Kindle. Reading is what I’m addicted to and while I know it’s not good, I also know it could be worse.

  4. Turia says:

    I don’t play any computer games for this exact reason. I have a bit of an addictive personality and it would be way, WAY too easy for me to get sucked in. I learned that in high school and haven’t budged since, even though I know I would love World of Warcraft and games of that ilk so very very much.

    But I also think it’s too easy for me to fart around on the computer reading bits and pieces and checking out websites. I’m still thinking about how best to scale back and what restrictions I need to set. But I definitely need restrictions.
    xoxo
    T.

  5. B says:

    Amen. But an easy trap to fall into. I do it myself. Remind me to stay well away from candy crush!

  6. Kate says:

    I’ve never been one for games….but I do get obsessed with having a clean house and let having everything in order be my distraction from spending quality time with my kids. I do think disconnecting has to be a decision. There are so many distractions in our life.

  7. Yeah, I did the same months ago although I just played WWF and Candy Fix. IF I am going to be on the computer, I want it to be for checking email, writing, reading (news/blogs), or shopping/research (right now I am trying to find a big enough lunch box for H as his new school has a zero waste initiative and I need something that can easily hold the hard sided reusable containers. And, a new coordinating back pack).

    I spent a LOT of time on the computer but I am home alone-ish, when baby is napping and H is at camp, so I cut myself some slack (as I squeeze in household chores in between).

    Don’t leave FB!

  8. Ana says:

    Yes! I did this in January—not facebook games per se, but games I played on my phone to “zone out”—I’d find myself playing while watching the kids, etc… I just couldn’t make myself stop playing so I got rid of everything and I don’t miss it a bit.

  9. Beth says:

    I hear you and agree totally!! Way to go, giving up all that craziness! You are an inspiration and I think I’m going to do the same! That game is also taking me away from far too much!

  10. Beth says:

    Reblogged this on picturingpositive and commented:
    Motivating post! While I haven’t given up ALL my Facebook games, this did inspire me to delete the far too addicting Candy Crush from both Facebook and my phone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

