Why I Might Have Turned Into A Dog Person.

Before we got a puppy, I was dubious about dogs.

I’ve mentioned it before – I grew up with dogs. And they were nice and all, but they all LOVED my mother and only tolerated me. Also, from my perspective, they were a lot of WORK. Walking them, taking them out, playing with them, grooming them, etc. They could be smelly and slobbery and shed EVERYWHERE and barked and could be annoyingly enthusiastic.

I wasn’t sure they were worth it.

Cats, on the other hand, groomed themselves. They used the bathroom INSIDE the house. (Which, yes, I admit, really sucked to clean.) They were warm and small and fuzzy and smelled good and purred and left you alone a lot.

So when we made the decision to get a dog, I was kind of nervous. I was a Cat Person, after all. How would I do with a dog?

I have to say, I love our dog more and more every day. I tell Jeff that it’s because he’s Insidiously Cute; they HAVE to make puppies that cute because otherwise they wouldn’t survive to adulthood.

But it’s more than that.

I think I’m starting to see why dogs get the moniker of Man’s Best Friend.

Finley follows me EVERYWHERE. If he’s sleeping, and I walk into another room, he’ll get up, follow me, and then flop down none-too-gracefully at my feet.

He knows that we don’t like it when he barks, so when he needs to get my attention, he does this barky-growly-whiny thing which is NOT a bark, but does the trick to let us know he needs something. And if I have my headphones on? He’ll nudge me gently, then stare at me expectantly.

He’s ALWAYS happy to see me, no matter how long it’s been since I’ve gone; I get the royal treatment when I come home regardless of whether it’s been 5 minutes or a full day.

He will do ANYTHING for a treat. (And he actually believes ice cubes are a treat!) It has made him very trainable in many ways.

It’s a level of unconditional love that I am not sure I’ve ever experienced. Certainly not with Puck, who loved me, but on HIS terms. Finn is happiest when he’s around us – his pack. And when he looks up at me with those liquid eyes, I want to hug him and kiss him.

I am so happy he’s a part of our family.

6 comments on “Why I Might Have Turned Into A Dog Person.

  1. Donna g says:

    Omg…..you sound like me. We got a yellow lab/golden mix and he has become my shadow. Favor part of his day….3 mile run. He LOVES running! Not to happy when I leave him home.

  2. Esperanza says:

    Awwwww… I want a dog SO BAD! And now that we have a backyard it’s killing me not to get one. But I know now is not the time. Maybe in a few years, we shall see. In the meantime I’ll have to live vicariously through you. Keep up the posts and pictures about that adorable puppy! I for one love to read them.

    PS do you think you’ll ever take him on runs? When he’s bigger and better trained?

  3. Ellen K. says:

    IMO the most important difference between cats and dogs is that dogs seem almost universally happy to have been domesticated. I am not a cat person. I. and N. are under the mistaken impression that we will have a cat sometime in the future. : P

    Your dog is awesome, paws down.

  4. I am so glad that you are a convert. I am and always have been a dog person. I do not like or understand cats and have never met one that’s made me rethink my position (including meeting 21# Patrick the cat today)

    Finley will be a loyal and unconditionally loving member of your family and friend to O for life. How great is that?!

  5. Ana says:

    Yes to dogs! Great running buddies, too 🙂 I tried running without my 4-legged-friend because I thought it may be too hot for her, and I felt so…lonely.

  6. I’m a dog person. Welcome to the pack! Glad it’s working out.

Leave a Reply

