One Week.

Dear Owen:

One week from today, you’re going to climb up the stairs onto the big yellow school bus and head to your first day of kindergarten.

I am so excited to start this journey with you.

In kindergarten, you’re going to learn that the letters you know make words. And you’ll learn how to decipher those words into meaning.

All of a sudden, the world is going to open up to you: the world is full of letters and words and meanings.

In kindergarten, you’re going to learn how to make new friends; maybe the same ones you’ve been friends with since you were 6 months old, but maybe new friends, too. Like the boy up the road who will be at the bus stop with us every day.

Or maybe even a GIRL; you can be friends with girls, too, did you know that?

In kindergarten, you’re going to learn how to remember your schedule; the days you need to take the bus home and the days you’ll stay at school until your daddy or I pick you up.

Don’t worry – I have a plan to help you keep track, thanks to our next door neighbor. Just check your lunchbox every day: the magnet with the picture of our house means you get to take the bus home. The magnet with the picture of school means you are staying there until we pick you up.

In kindergarten, you begin what I hope will be a love of learning for the rest of your life.

There are so many things I hope for you.

I hope you fall in love with learning like your daddy and I did.

I hope your teacher recognizes your deep curiosity of the world and helps us foster it.

I hope you stay safe.

I hope you make friends easily, and play fun games at recess, and jump and run and get dirty.

I hope your father and I can ease these next few weeks of transition for you to make it easier.

I hope that you want to share your day with us at dinner, telling us stories about your day and what you’ve learned.

I hope you know how proud of you I am, how excited I am to start this next chapter of your life, and how much I love you.

And I hope you know that when I blink back tears as I wave goodbye to you as you board that bus, it’s because I’m happy. A little sad, too – when you’re a parent, it’s sometimes hard to let go. Not very long ago, you were so little and vulnerable and helpless.

But I know you’re ready, and you’re going to rock kindergarten.

Love always,

Mommy

7 comments on “One Week.

  1. KeAnne says:

    Awww so sweet! My little boy started pre-k yesterday, and it felt like I was sending him off to kindergarten. I hope Owen has a great time!

  2. So sweet, Karen. An Ode to Kindergarten Owen.

  3. B says:

    Gosh they are big now, aren’t they? Love the magnet idea.

  4. Delenn says:

    Great post. Wishing you guys a wonderful start to the school adventure!

  5. Kate says:

    Oh jeez, I totally cried reading this. Don’t grow up, little babes. But, at the same time….do…grow up and be big and strong and brave. It’s so scary to see our little ones embarking upon the world without us to protect them from every fall. And, to see the season of his younger years come to a close. New adventures ahead. New things to experience together. So much to look forward to. But, as a wise person once told me, there is no past, no future, only now.

  6. tracyk527 says:

    Totally sobbed… you are an awesome Mom, my friend. He is a lucky little boy.

    Hope his first day of school is just AWESOME!

  7. catwoman73 says:

    I don’t know about you, but I’m a little freaked out this is happening in one week! Time goes far too quickly! Lovely post, Karen!

Leave a Reply

