#Microblog Mondays 1: The Boy Who Loved Nonfiction.

 

Microblog_Mondays

(Want to know what #Microblog Mondays is? Click here)

My son treats the library as his own personal learning experience; he spends all his time in the kids room in the Early Reader Nonfiction section with the books on emergency vehicles – Fireboats, Ambulances, Fire Trucks – construction vehicles, and thankfully has moved on to natural sciences like the book on the lifecycle of a frog and salmon and bee.

It’s a hard sell for me to get him to agree to a book with a Story, but I keep trying. Because *I* need a book with a story sometimes. Took me three tries, but he agreed to Charlotte’s Web, which he thankfully enjoyed.

I recently convinced him to try Charlie and the Chocolate Factory this last trip to the library, and so the book came home with us. He wouldn’t read it right away. And when I was out one night, Jeff asked Owen if he wanted to read that it.

Oh, that book, Owen said.

Mom made me get that one.

(Someday. I still have hope.)

8 comments on “#Microblog Mondays 1: The Boy Who Loved Nonfiction.

  1. middlegirl54 says:

    Evoking memories of when my son and daughter were young children.
    Someday, indeed.

  2. Haha! I remember my mom retold the story in the elementary class she taught, instead of reading it aloud (I don’t really know why she decided to do that and I unfortunately can’t ask her anymore). I tried reading a book with my boys the other day that I thought they would enjoy (or at least my 5-year old), but they still preferred other books with more images too. Someday, indeed 🙂

  3. Petunia says:

    Too cute! 🙂 My son requested the Central Florida AAA tour book for last night’s bedtime story. He’s truly never met a “book” he didn’t love!

  4. Mel says:

    I have to admit that the twins didn’t like Charlie and we quit in the middle, even though they liked other Roald Dahl.

    Has he tried Magic Treehouse? Blends history/science/non-fiction with a fictional story.

    • Karen says:

      He loves the Magic Treehouse series, Mel! We listen to the audiobooks in the car and we’ve read nearly all of the ones our library has on hand. Probably should start requesting the ones he hasn’t read next. 🙂

  5. Oh man this takes me back. With my son it was train encyclopedias. Everything, everything trains.

  6. Shannon says:

    Does he like non-fiction with a story? (Thinking Little House on the Prairie, though of course those are fictionalized. I’m sure there are better examples, but I’m drawing a blank!)

  7. a says:

    We do this all the time – I recommend things I think my daughter will like and she turns up her nose. Fortunately, we have had friendly, helpful, fantastic librarians and teachers from whom she is much more willing to take suggestions.

Leave a Reply

